Stanley Cup

This is the club’s first tournament of the season. It is typically held on the second weekend of June to coincide with the other Stanley Cup. 

Interested parties can contact the coordinators at:

Stanley Cup Results 2022

GBTC held its “Stanley Cup” one-day tournament on Saturday, June 11, 2022. Sixteen players suited up to play in 4 divisional round robins, with 8 players advancing to the playoff round and the other 8 moving to the doubles playoff. After 6 matches, Brendan Lafontaine was the winner, defeating Tom Fitzgerald in a final with excellent shot making and extended rallies that entertained an enthusiastic crowd!

It ended up being a terrific day for tennis with sunshine and a light breeze, a nice lunch provided by GTBC volunteers to cap off all the great on-court play!

Thanks to everyone for a great start to the tournament season!

[Photos: Brendan and Tom (L) and group participants]

Stanley Cup Results 2019

A well played match on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon, resulting in a well deserved win of 4-2 for Chris Taplin!

Winner: Chris Taplin (blue shirt)

Stanley Cup Results 2015

This past Saturday (June 6, 2015), under a cloudless sky and warm temps, GBTC hosted its third annual early season tournament, also known as the “Stanley Cup” of tennis. Thirteen players registered for this one day event to play in a mixed format tournament that included 5 rounds of round robin and elimination play.

There were appearances from GBTC mainstays such as Catherine Kizito, Peter Melvin, Jeff Sadrian, Stephen Coaker and Huy Vu as well as some relative new comers such as Tatiana Klokotzky, Kevin Wright, Rick Vidale, Rob Kyte and Derek Deccash. In the end, it was Tom Fitzgerald who prevailed over Rob Lalonde, 8-5 in a very well played match (pro set).

Congratulations to the finalists and thanks to everyone who registered for the day!

Finalists: Rob Lalonde (2015 Runner up) and Tom Fitzgerald (2015 Champion).

Stanley Cup Results 2014

Last weekend (June 7, 2014) General Burns Tennis Club hosted its second annual, Early Season Tournament, also known as the “Stanley Cup”. This year’s tournament had a draw of 16 players who played multiple matches in sun and heat.

The semi-finalists on the winners’ side of the draw included David Branton-Brown versus Ray Chaaraoui in one semi-final match and Michael Margolian versus Jeff Sadrian in the other semi-final match. In the end, it was Ray Chaaraoui prevailing over Jeff Sadrian in a sweat-soaked “Stanley Cup” final, 8-4.

Finalist: left to right, Jeff Sadrian and Ray Chaaraoui

Past to present Stanley Cup winners

If you’re interested in a look back to all our past and present winners, you can do so with the below link.